Counting continues in Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barishal polls | Politics | ABnews24

Tue, June 18, 2019
  • Home
  • Politics
  • Counting continues in Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barishal polls
Counting continues in Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barishal polls
Dhaka, 30 July, Abnews: The voting in the three city corporations – Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barishal – ended peacefully this afternoon amid stringent security measures and festivity while the vote counting is being carried out in the polling stations.
The balloting started at 8am and at all voting centers of the three cities with the participation of a huge number of voters, standing on long queues.
The voting continued till 4 pm without any break and the counting of votes started at all the polling centres simultaneously soon after voting ended.
In Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC), four candidates are contesting for the mayoral post. They are: ruling Awami League-nominated AHM Khairuzzaman Liton (Boat), BNP-nominated Mohammad Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan Bangladesh candidate Md Shafiqul Islam (Hand Fan) and independent candidate Md Murad Morshed (Elephant).
Election Commission sources said a total of 3,18,138 voters are in Rajshahi City Corporation. Among them, 1,56,085 are male and 1,62,053 are female.
In Sylhet City Corporation (SCC), seven candidates are contesting for the mayoral post. The candidates are: AL-nominated Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran (Boat), BNP-candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan Bangladesh-backed Dr Md Moazzem Hossain Khan (Hand Fan), Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal candidate Md Abu Jafar (Ladder) and independent candidates Ahasan Mahbub Jobayer (Table Watch), Md Ahasanul Haque Taher (Deer) and Md Badruzzaman Selim (Bus).
In SCC, there are 3,21,732 voters. Of them, 1,7144 are male and 1,50288 female.
In Barisal City Corporation (BCC), six candidates are competing polls for the mayoral post. They are: AL candidate Serniyabat Sadek Abdullha (Boat), BNP-nominated Md Majibur Rahman Sarwar (Sheaf of Paddy), Islami Andolan candidate Obaidur Rahman (Hand Fan), Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB) candidate Abul Kalam Azad ((Sickle), Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal candidate Manisha Chakrabarty (Ladder) and Jatiya Party candidate Md Iqbal Hossain (Plough).
There are 2,42,666 voters in Barisal City Corporation. Of them, 1,21,436 are male and 1,20,739 female.
A total of 530 councilor candidates are contesting in the three city polls. - BSS
  • Latest News
  • Most Viewed